I’ll Be Honest ~ Keep It Simple Saturday

I’m having issues with sobriety, not that any of you would have any reason to think other than that.

I’ll also be honest and say, I’m a good person.  I hate alcoholism.  I hate addiction. I hate watching everyone go through it, including loved ones that have to deal with people like myself.

Honestly, people like myself die from their addictions.  It’s a fact.  I have to deal with that on a daily basis but yet I don’t do anything about it.  I will die of active alcoholism.

You know what I want?  I don’t want to cure MY alcoholism or mental illness, I want to touch someone else enough to help them stay sober or alive.  To be honest, that’s all I want in life.

Just to help one person to stay alive…

15 thoughts on “I’ll Be Honest ~ Keep It Simple Saturday

  1. I lived with an alcoholic for 4 years & even though I loved him dearly I could not make him want to be sober. The alcoholic needs to want to be sober for themselves. BTW, it’s not fun being the sober one in a relationship with an alcoholic. Our relationship ended because of alcohol, his good relationships with all of his children suffered because of his alcoholism.

      • I’m not sure I understand your response. I am not a saint. I hate alcohol for what it did to us. This man was the love of my life & alcohol robbed him of every wonderful quality he had.
        I admire anyone who wants to get out of alcoholism or drugs, they don’t just destroy the person’s life – they destroy the lives of everyone who loves them.

  2. We all want our time on Earth to have meaning Bats, but very few of us are able to define exactly what that meaning would look like. You are one of the few who can. And because of that, you help others, like me, to define it for themselves. I hope you keep right on inspiring me for a long time to come.

  3. That’s a great goal,Bats,and I think you’ve touched everyone who comes by here.
    But I for one think it would be better if you stuck around so you could see the effect you have.

  4. I can only ditto what Al, Izaak, Guapo & Pied have already expressed. You inspire us, Bats; we strangers here in the blogosphere hope for your happiness — your *contentment* — every day..

  5. I’m guessing that whatever you’re looking for in alcohol, you are failing to find. You make ME want to stay sober, for sure. When you can’t live with it, and can’t live without it, that’s was we call the gift of desperation. I hope you find serenity soon.

  6. My wish and hope to help others is also contingent on my being well myself. I cannot be useful to others when I am in dire straights. I extend that thought to you as well.
    Blessings,
    Paul

  7. Don’t give up on yourself. There is no cure. However, there is a healing process which, does not discriminate, regardless of the severity of one’s issues. I know, for I am allowing it to slowly challenge me. Thanks for liking my blog. Stay in touch. x

Leave a Reply

