ReBlog: Hug A Vet Today

Today is obviously our day to honor those whom protect us and our Old Glory’s freedom.  Today we bow our heads for those brave soldiers whom have given the ultimate price so we remain a free country, so we can have “The American Dream” in our lives everyday, so we don’t have to feel fear when we go to sleep at night or awake in the morning.

I have a Veteran that has been in my life from the time I was born.  He taught me respect for our Flag, Arlington National Cemetery, our Armed Forces, and most of all Freedom.  He served two tours of duty in Vietnam and has never once asked for anything in return for it,  “Sweetie, I did it because it needed to be done,”  was his reply when I asked why he would go to war and possibly sacrifice his own life.  He brought back many memories from Vietnam and I am proud that he has shared some of those memories with me, I am proud that he ‘did what needed to be done’ for me, my children; for you, and your children.  I love and respect America because he taught that respect to me and always told me to hold that love close to my heart because there is no other place in the world as beautiful, gracious, noble as this country.

I love you, Dad!  You have and always will be my Hero.

12 thoughts on “ReBlog: Hug A Vet Today

  1. I love you too, daddy, Bob. I know it was difficult for my farm-raised Pop to work his tour … but he did it … WWII. He is still living. I will call him today. Love you daddy, Thanks Bats for posting.

    Go VETS! You rock! Love, Mel

    • You thank your Daddy from me also. Of course it was difficult but I bet he says the same as my Dad, that he did it because it had to be done. Thanks Mel for stopping in and for a comment that made me smile.

  2. I learned these things from my dad, too. He was a WWII vet, and I was a war baby. Bless all the fathers who serve or served to preserve freedom for their children.

  3. My Dad was a career Colonel in the Air Force, and he instilled in my sister and me a great sense of honor, patriotism and respect. Thanks for the reminder about what this is about, Bats!

Leave a Reply

