Rep Anthony Weiner (D-NY) Confesses

Lets touch on a topic I haven’t touched on before with this blog, sexual addiction.  Since we all know that Countess Bats enjoys news and politics, lets touch on the confessions of Rep. Anthony Weiner.

Last week a photo surfaced on Mr. Weiner’s twitter account; a photo that was interesting to say the least.  It was tweeted to one of his followers, and it was a crotch shot photo of a man, a lewd photo.  He tried letting us all know that his account was hacked, that this was a prank because of his last name.  Possible, right?  Well yesterday, June 6th 2011, Mr Weiner held a press conference.  A SHOCKING press conference, where he said this:

“To be clear, the picture was of me, and I sent it. I’m deeply sorry for the pain this has caused my wife, and our family, my constituents, my friends, my supporters and my staff.  I lied because I was ashamed at what I had done, and I didn’t want to get caught.”

and went on to say this:

“I have made terrible mistakes.  I have not been honest with myself or my family. … I should not have done this, and I should not have done this particularly when I was married.”

So…wave your hands in the air if you believe that men in power seem to be abusing their power left and right?  I’m not sure how much of that I believe because I’ve seen the photos of one of the 6 young ladies this Congressman has been having interesting online interactions with, consensual sexting.   I will say I’m waving my hand in the air because I believe this man has a powerful addiction; sexual addiction.  Lets face it, even though he is a Congressman, he still is a man, a human being.  He’s not above us and he can still have emotions, bad days, and addictions like the rest of us.

I need to make it perfectly clear, Mr Weiner has not admitted to having any sort of addiction.  These are my thoughts completely.

My opinion is, yes he made major mistakes and I hope he can repair his personal life because being an alcoholic and addict I know right where he is at.  I’ve made mistakes in my life that make me want to puke.  I’ve made many mistakes while drunk and high that would make you want to spit on me.  So Mr. Weiner is living right now in the 10th circle of hell, he’s dug himself into a very deep hole and now he’s going to need to figure a way to not bury himself there.  I believe that his first step should be to admit that this wasn’t just a mistake.  A mistake doesn’t last 3 years;  an addiction does though.

So where are you all standing on this?  I know this brings up anger at the fact that he is a Congressman and I know it’s very hard not to hold him up on a pedestal.  My first reaction to his confession was this:

 
Countess Bats

@bats0711 Countess Bats
You have to be kidding me Mr. Weiner?! I throw my hands up at the US government! @RepWeiner @CNN @whitehouse @BarackObama #anthonyweiner
 

My second reaction was:

Countess Bats

@bats0711 Countess Bats
#weiner I believe he’s screwed up the general publics chances of engaging with public figures via social media. sucks.
 
 
and now my reaction is somewhat somber.  I kind of know how this guy feels, only I get to be anonymous about it.
8 thoughts on “Rep Anthony Weiner (D-NY) Confesses

  1. I think many of us are addicted to sex. Sex is fun. But society has issues with sex, particularly when it comes to public sex and deviant acts and all that. We like our sex covered up. It’s supposed to be a private matter. So while this guy is obviously a deviant and likely adulterous, that should really be between him and his wife. And, if he weren’t a congressman, it probably would be. Personally, I think his sexual issues should be his own problem. But now, because of the news media, they’re MY problem. WTF? I might as well stay away from the news for a while, because Weiner’s dick has the limelight. And to I really want to look at shots of this dude’s underwear? No. Not really. But there it is, on my fricken screen. My kids are like, “how come that guys underwear are on the TV Dad?” And I’m left struggling for an explanation. “I guess he didn’t wash them,” was all I could come up with. “So don’t forget,” I told my son, “change your underwear every day!”

    • First off good answer to your kid. Since this has to be a national matter than I sure as shit am happy he’s wearing underwear, uh what’s under that underwear isn’t a vision I want to look at.
      See this is the thing for me, he is a congressman but you know he is a human, he has flaws, we all do but because he helps supposedly run America and NYC then I’m suppose to care. Personally I care because it is a person with addiction so when I think about it I’m thinking of ways he needs to deal with this as a person who has screwed up his life the same as I because of addiction. But then again nobodies discussed the issue of addiction on the news when it comes to this, atleast I haven’t heard that they have.

  2. I don’t buy it. I don’t believe that behavioral addictions are the same as chemical addictions. And regardless of that, has he gone to ANY length (I mean, has he done anything at all) to deal with his problem? I absolutely hate to see a progressive politician go down like this, it makes me angry at HIM.

    • I’ve been thinking before I wanted to comment to this and you know I don’t really have any comment other than I KNOW. The other day when I saw the added bulshit to his demise of DMing with a 17 year old girl, I just got frustrated and walked away from my computer. Even if it was innocent talk, what the sam heck is he DMing with a child for?
      Am I currently mad at him? Do I think he should step down? I don’t know and I don’t know. I do know I want to know what kind of treatment center he has checked himself into but I’m not sure I have a right to know that.
      I also thought about behavioral addictions compared to chemical ones and although not the same, I believe they can lead to the same, hell.

  3. I don’t believe in “sexual addiction.” I think it’s a lame excuse for indulging natural desires when one shouldn’t. Frankly, I don’t condemn private sexting, cybering, and phone sex between consenting single adults. It’s just the modern take on something humans have always done. Married adults have spouses to consider, and how it affects their marriage is their business, no one else’s. Weiner’s big mistake, in my book, was not immediately taking responsibility for his behavior. Lying, lying, and lying some more was inexcusable.

Leave a Reply

