Evening Buzz: Deadly Storms Hit the South (via Anderson Cooper 360)

Storms silenced the south yesterday and are hitting me today. I am in awe of the devastion that Mother Nature leashed on so many again. Makes my issues seem mundane and idiotic. I have family in Alabama, my brother I haven’t talked with in over 10 years, his wife, and his four children; are they okay? I don’t know. I can’t imagine anyone is okay in all of the states that were ripped open from these storms. It’s called a National Disaster and they are in major need of help. Last I heard over 600 people have been hospitalized in Alabama alone and unfortunately over 200 people  have lost their lives. Was it painful?  Or were they trapped?  Were they warned?  Or were they shocked to see over 130 tornadoes touch down around them?

Dear Alabama,
I hear your cries, I know you hurt. Help is coming, hold on just a little while longer. I hold all of your hearts, souls, and thoughts in my own heart today.
I hear you,
Bats

Update: deaths are now at 247
Update: death toll now at 266

From AC360’s Blog:

It’s been a deadly evening for storms across the deep south. There are at least 25 confirmed deaths alone in Alabama due to severe storms and tornadoes, according to the state’s emergency management director. A major storm hit Tuscaloosa, Alabama, knocking down trees, ripping off roofs and reportedly trapping people in their homes. Farther north, in the town of Cullman, it’s believed a tornado hit, ripping off the roof of the courthouse and damag … Read More

via Anderson Cooper 360

2 thoughts on “Evening Buzz: Deadly Storms Hit the South (via Anderson Cooper 360)

  1. This is so bad Bats. So far, the number of people killed by tornadoes this month is second only to the April 1974 outbreak I wrote about. And the month ain’t over yet. My thoughts are with the families of the victims, and all those who are now searching for the strength to rebuild their lives.

    • Mak said:

      “My thoughts are with the families of the victims, and all those who are now searching for the strength to rebuild their lives.”

      I ditto Mak. The number of deaths and destruction is unbelieveable!

Leave a Reply

