I’ll Be Successful Today

I don’t ‘do’ New Years resolutions.  Why you ask…because it sets me up for major failure and lets face it, an alcoholic, bipolarized woman has enough failures to try to deal with.  I used to do it, you know hey everyone does it so why not me to?  I’ll stop drinking, quit smoking, go vegetarian, begin a routine.  But a week into it well what happens?  I began drinking again, or smoking or eating cow and don’t get me started on the routine thing.  I sware to god I have no clue how to set up a routine and then follow it, I’ve actually been doing research on how to begin and keep going with a routine and I have been researching it for oh about 3-4 years now and I just don’t get it.  I know that makes me sound like an idiot but for some reason, routine+my brain=a blank spot.

So now I just concentrate on the major rule I have learned through out my process of becoming sober and recovery,  One Day At A Time+my brain= Success.  Lets face it, success is important to women whether it be at a job, losing weight, being a SAHM, cooking, cleaning, laundry, love life, ect…For some reason society puts women on a totem pole and says “climb your way to the top and be successful, as a woman you are required to do this.”  But then nobody says it’s okay if you don’t actually succeed and then the woman is left with failure in her heart and mind, which brings on a whole other issue of self-hate, feeling less than.

So each year I choose not to do this to myself.  As long as I don’t drink right this minute, I feel like a successful woman, wife, and mother.

12 thoughts on “I’ll Be Successful Today

    • 😉 you know I had thought about how there are just as many men that have issues with addiction or keeping resolutions, well that struggle through life also…I mean we are all human right but thought I should post on a subject that I definately know about and that’s being a woman.

  1. Yep, that’s how I quit smoking – one minute at a time. Eventually the craving went away, but never completely. I looked at the cigarettes today when I was buying a red bull for my commute, and I thought, just one pack wouldn’t hurt.

    But I didn’t buy them. I know better. It’s been three years, and I’m not going back again.

  2. You are absolutely right. Y’know, I don’t think I’ve met anyone who actually kept a new year’s resolution, so they gotta be pointless, right? Anyway, it’s more important for each of us to just do our best and be good however we know how.

    You have a great year, Bats!!

    • Now that I think about it, I don’t know anyone who has either. If you are reading and you have succeeded with a resolution, shout it out I’d love to hear about it and it doesn’t have to have anything to do with alcoholism or addiction.
      Thanks Blisterina, You have a fabulous year also.

Leave a Reply

