Creating The Life You Want (A Worksheet)

I found this fabulous Bipolar website this morning and this is one of the worksheets it has in it wellness toolbox.  Lots of valuable information in the website, check out the website here~~>>Mental Health Resources.
The Ten Steps to Accomplishing a Goal
1. State as clearly as possible in a positive manner what it is that you want to create in your life.

  • Within the next (time frame)__________________, I choose to …

2. Be clear why you want this and how your life will be different once you achieve this goal.

  • I believe the benefits of doing this will be …
  • If I decide not to do this, it will mean…

3. Understand what you have going for you to help you achieve this goal.

  • Three things that I have going for me in terms of creating the kind of future that I want are …

4. Understand the challenges that exist.

  • Three things that may keep me from creating the kind of future that I want are…

5. Be especially aware of the negative self-talk that sabotages and undermines your attempts to succeed.

  • The negative and destructive self-talk that I need to watch out for is…
  • I will fight this negative self-talk by …

6. Be clear about what you need to achieve this goal in terms of skills, resources, support systems, etc.

  • I need to learn the following skills in order to accomplish this goal…
  • I need to get these resources…
  • I need to develop these supports…

7. List the 3-5 major actions that you need to take to start moving toward this goal.

  • I need to get started by doing these things…

8. Think of ways to care for yourself as you work to achieve this goal.

  • I will take care of myself while working to create the kind of future I want by…

9. Stay focused on what you want to create, not on the difficulties you might be having.

  • I will keep myself focused on what I want to create and the benefits this will bring me by …

10. Be easy on yourself! Have fun! Enjoy it! Enjoy life!

  • I will remember to be easy on myself. Have fun! Enjoy it! I will work to enjoy life by doing these things…
Leave a Reply

