Keep It Simple Saturday~Powerless

This Saturday I’m posting an AA reflection that has rang in my ears the most when I have needed it.  There’s a lot about AA I can’t stand but I have to admitt AA has helped me stay sober on more than one occassion.  Keep It Simple today guys.

We admitted we were powerless over alcohol-that our lives had become unmanageable.
Twelves Steps and Twelve Traditions pg. 21

It is no coincidence that the very first Step mentions powerlessness:  An admission of personal powerlessness over alcohol is a cornerstone of the foundation of recovery.  I’ve learned that I do not have the power and control I once thought I had.  I am powerless over what people think about me.  I am powerless over having just missed the bus.  I am powerless over how other people work (or don’t work) the Steps.  But I’ve also learned I am not powerless over some things.  I am not powerless over my attitudes.  I am not powerless over negativity.  I am not powerless over assuming responsibility for my own recovery.  I have the power to exert positive influence on myself, my loved ones, and the world in which I live.
Anonymous Alcoholic

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

One thought on “Keep It Simple Saturday~Powerless

  1. Powerful stuff! As much as I hate having to reach out, I’ve come to the decision that I can’t do it alone. Take a look at how my Saturday went.

Leave a Reply

