A Three Ring Circus, GAP Claim

I’ve decided that trying to get a GAP Claim paid out is like banging your head against a wall, pure insanity like alcoholism.  At this point the company has us jumping through hulahoops to get this car paid off.  Luckily I’ve been on the ball and VW Credit isn’t reporting anything to credit bureaus because quite honestly we just can not afford anymore bad strikes against us and another plus with them is if we decided to get another VW they would finance us.  What they don’t know is we will never again buy another car through them just because of the GAP “Insurance” company they use.  It’s awful and well plainly a scam.  The dealership we had purchased our car from back then gave me yet another call yesterday to discuss where I wanted the cancelled warrenty money to go to and they also talked a little more in length of what I am having to go through with this.  The human resources department will now be training their sales people to discuss the GAP “Insurance” a little more.  It turns out no one looks at those exclusions on the back and numerous people are now having to pay off totalled cars because of one exclusion in particular.  If the car is used for commercial purposes, then it null and voids the contract and the company has come up with its own defination of commercial use, meaning they define it with how many miles have been placed on the vehicle not whether or not you’ve carried persons or goods for money in the vehicle.  In the three years we owned the car, my hubby placed 77,000 miles on it going to and from work.  HE NEVER PLACED GOODS OR PERSONS IN THE VEHICLE TO MAKE MONEY, NEVER.  Well they don’t want to pay out because of the miles.  What they don’t realize is that I’ve done research and know I can beat this in small claims court so if I have to and it’s not paid out by the end of this month, I’ll just take the issue there.  We need to get this car paid off so we can get a new vehicle, currently my hubby is using our 99 Jeep with almost over 200,000 miles on it for going to and from work and well it’s already broke down twice on him.  It’s not a reliable vehicle in that way but would use it for fishing or just going to the grocery store.  Without the VW paid off, we can’t get another loan for another vehicle so we are pretty much stuck.  I think I’m being lienient when I say, by the end of this month.   I’ll keep ya updated though, at this point it looks like small claims court we’ll be going.

Other than that, I went to bed last night and woke up this morning with a strong desire to drink.  I think it’s that time of the month.  Breathe, breathe, breathe.

Leave a Reply

