Stop Waiting For Celebrities To Die To Discuss Addiction

I know everyone is anxiously awaiting a post by me about Whitney Houston’s tragic death {sarcasm about waiting for the post} but the truth of the matter is this:  I don’t understand why it takes a celebrity to die for us to notice and discuss addiction.  My heart goes out to the Houston family and friends, it really does.  Don’t get me wrong, I looked up to Whitney Houston when I was a little girl before I noticed Danzig, Metallica, Tom Petty, Megadeth, and Slayer.  I wanted to be as beautiful as her, wanted to sound like a songbird just as she did.

Addiction is powerful, it’s raw, it’s confining, it’s suffocating; and unfortunately it has taken yet another beautiful person off the face of the Earth.  Each day addiction takes women {and men} to deep dark places of despair, of horror, and each day it takes someone new to death.  We need to quit waiting for celebrities to die to discuss what addiction is, we need to notice it even if it’s not in our lives and notice it even when it’s a regular human being.  I know I’m sounding selfish with this post, I know that in life there are the celebrity class and then just us normal people and that’s how society works but it pisses me off that I see a woman trend on Twitter for dying but she didn’t trend for her smile or strength.  It pisses me off that when I almost died from addiction, my life didn’t trend on Twitter.  It pisses me off that it takes a celebrity to die for us to realize that addiction is real, that it kills, that it leaves a lasting effect of damage much like a tornado even after we die.

So I leave you with this…Mark David Allen died.

28 thoughts on “Stop Waiting For Celebrities To Die To Discuss Addiction

  1. Well said. For every person that “has it all” and is gripped by addiction, there are thousands who feel they have “nothing” and are equally trapped. A celebrity is not worth more than anyone else, but one celebrity drug-related death could save hundreds of lives if we use the tragedy to alleviate and reduce addiction.

  2. Thanks so much for the link to MDA. I was totlly engorssed and want to read the whole thing. What an amazing thing! And how sad that Allen or Houston, or Jen’s mom, or ANYONE has to die unnecesarily.
    I find my mind wandering to the days of prohibition. Amazind try, that was, and it failed, but somebody was trying to stem the tide of death in those days . . . Did their failure make us afraid to try, now?

    • Thank you for reading that link Katharine, that means a lot to me. Last night on AC 360 Dr. Drew {and I hate to bring Mr. I have a show with celebrities into this but…} said what really needs to be said. “THOUSANDS of people die EVERYDAY from addictions.”

      • “I hate to bring Mr. I have a show with celebrities into this

        Yeah, I know. But I kinda heart Dr Drew, lol. He is cute and a lot of what he has to say has helped me a lot in understanding addiction. :D

        I have been thinking about you. I see you have been on Twitter! (I haven’t so much this week… as my “other me.”) So I know you are alive and well. I’m glad. :)

        Just wanted to say hello since you had not posted in a while & that oh yeah, I started writing a blog as Mrs D, too. Maybe you saw that. I have some kind of not very interesting posts there now, but one that is really interesting (to me, anyway) coming up for this next week. I hope you can say hi there soon (as you can — I know from your other posts that it seems like you have a lot going on).

        Take care, Bats.
        xx
        Mrs D

  3. Reblogged this on Step On A Crack…Or Break Your Mother's Back and commented:
    I agree with Bats. We can not continue to wait for celebrities to die to begin a real dialog about addiction and death. My thoughts and prayers go out to the family; they always do.

    My thoughts and prayers go out to EVERY family who loses someone to drugs or alcohol. EVERY FAMILY.

    It is time to begin a REAL dialog about the deaths of addicts all over the world; period.

    To paraphrase the Poet Audre Lord, “Our Silence will not save us.”

    No. It won’t.

    Jen

  4. You packed a lot of power into a few short words. My feelings about Whitney are a bit conflicted but your words make me re-examine them in a slightly new light. It’s a tragedy that she went so young. It always is.

      • Of course, the TV stations can do whatever they want, whatever they think will garner them a few more viewers, within the FCC rules of decency or whatever.
        However, it is illegal to lower the US flag to half-staff unless the US government proclaims it should be lowered, and the guidelines include for the president, the governors, and for large numbers of deaths, such as Pearl Harbor or 9/11 or something.
        So how does this lowering of our flag figure?
        It does not.

  5. Pingback: Reblog: Stop Waiting for Celebrities To Die To Discuss Addiction « 12 Steps – Think About It!

  6. Pingback: Death: Liver Disease Yeah, Right. « Step On A Crack…Or Break Your Mother's Back

  7. *waves*

    Sorry it took me forever to get here and comment. I also realized that I had subscribed to your blog, but under another email address, lol. Whoops. So I finally got into that account today, and whooosh. There were posts from you from the past several weeks and months.

    This was touching. And this: “it pisses me off that I see a woman trend on Twitter for dying but she didn’t trend for her smile or strength.” Me, too.

    And I have a big ole sad about that Mark David Allen link.

    I dunno. I have a lot of thoughts about all of this stuff, but I am expired for the moment about being able to think or write about them. Mostly, I just want you to know I am nodding my head in accordance with all that you have written.

    Thanks, Bats.
    Mrs. D

    • Hey Mrs. D!

      I’m glad that you read it and I never care if it takes you a few weeks to get here. I know how involved in life you are. :)

      Thank you for reading and your comment!

Leave a Reply

